Posted in Uncategorized

Bayou Boogaloo

Hi all y’all,

I didn’t really think it would happen that I am accepted to Bayou Boogaloo. In the application they asked for a picture of my tent. I wrote that I did not have a tent yet, I have never been part of a festival, but rest assured, it will be fabulous.  I figured this was a shot in the dark . It is a big art and music festival along the bayou by City Park. It runs for 3 days, May 16, 17 and 18th. I haven’t slept well since I found out.

When I start becoming too anxious about life and I can’t calm down by thinking that my life is pretty good, I write. I found out by writing that it is the outlay of money that is making me anxious. You know how they say you have to spend money to make money? I have to use the communal money from my marriage to fund this new adventure, i.e.. my sweet darlin’s income.

Before I started making art as my full-time profession, I bought a lot of art supplies just for fun. I had to remember fun. So I put my worries aside and started a new, easy painting. In this painting, I will paint intuitively. No learning curve.

I do like to learn how to paint a chicken with an expression of fear. I like to analyze what chicken feathers flying off the chicken might look like. I like to figure out how to paint a swaggering alligator walking toward me. I was becoming too tight. (Imagine wearing a t-shirt two sizes too small.)

I want to paint with abandon. Reclaim joy.

Begin.
Begin.

I know it will be a woman. I know she has a lot on her mind. I think she has wild hair.

You can already see her eyes peaking through.
You can already see her eyes peaking through.

Anyway, that’s where I am. Regaining  joy.

I have never been a fan of journaling. But in a pinch, it is a good way to find out why your head is spinning.

Wishing us all freedom.

Gator Girl

Author:

I paint to heal the world. If I fall short of that, I would like to make you smile. Gator Girl

4 thoughts on “Bayou Boogaloo

  1. Y’all are an extreme artist! Chicken feathers flying! Indeed. And an extreme writer! Y’all got nothing to fear.

    Raven Wisdom is comin’ to DO the fest wit ya. She’s good at showing your art and ravin’ bout your talent.

    Her Sweet Darlin’ says y’all need lotsa originals at Bayou BUGALOO!!!!

    Gotta move furniture so Raffi’s cousin can have clean carpets!!!

    Love RW, agent

    Sent from my iPhone

Leave a Reply

